The Leftover Omelet # 16

Martha Rose Shulman’s web site and cookbooks have been mentioned before and I remembered her writing about using anything as the filling for your omelets. Today, with nothing fresh available and only a modicum left over from the wonderful sauce that we had made for our pasta, I decided that this was the time to take the plunge, desert the fruit, cheese, nuts, and other fillings I have used in the past and recycle that spaghetti sauce. I considered supplementing it with fresh slices of onion or chopped oregano, rosemary, basil, or some other herb from the garden. But all those herbs were already in the sauce. So I filled the omelet with the unexpurgated sauce. This is what it looked like:

How did it taste, you ask? Well, it was an omelet of a very different nature. I think that it is most appropriate for a luncheon or dinner omele, however, for breakfast. which is when I cook my omelets, I still like the fruity and nutty morning omelets. They are more fresh and alive, bursting with flavors. the previously cooked, left-over tomato and eggplant pasta sauce omelet was flat compared to the others. I think that I will stick to my previous basis of omelet cooking which look something like this:

Let’s have a vote. Which one of the two pictures above do you think is the prettier?

—-

The voting results are in! The colorful fruit (pomegranates and figs) omelet won hands down. It wasn’t even close. And I add that appearance IS an important part of the eating experience.

One thought on “The Leftover Omelet # 16

  1. Pingback: An Omelet Double Header: The Stuffing with Cheese Omelet & The Cranberry Sauce Omelet – #20 & #21 | israelwinetaster

Leave a Reply

